TINY DANCER

“…Ballerina, you must have seen her dancing in the sand
And now she’s in me, always with me, tiny dancer in my hand…”

Tiny Dancer song by Elton John with lyrics by Bernie Taupin,
Album – Madman Across the Water (1972)

I finally went to see Darren Aronofsky’s Black Swan this Friday, a film that has been described by Peter Travers as “a hotblooded, head-spinning erotic thriller” in his review of the film on Rolling Stone.com. The movie was unforgettable, but even more thrilling were the costumes designed by Laura & Kate Mulleavy (the exceptionally talented sisters behind the Rodarte line) for the Swan Lake Ballet in the film, as well as a few other drool worthy pieces worn by Natalie Portman & Mila Kunis. The amount of tulle, feathers, lace & sequins ranging in colors of pale pastel pinks & subdued greys, snowy whites & pitch blacks was enough to send me into a frenzy of online searches, desperate to find my very own version of a delicate ballerina tutu I could call my own.

Here are a few of my favorites I found on my usual favorite places to shop, Etsy.com & Shopbop.com.
ENJOY!

TOP TO BOTTOM: ADAM Broomstick Skirt with Grosgrain Waistband available on Etsy.com here.
Reddoll Designs by Tatyana Merenuk Silk Charlie Halter Babydoll Dress available on Etsy.com here. BCBGMAXAZRIA Tulle Tutu Skirt available at Shobop.com.

TOP TO BOTTOM: Reddoll Designs by Tatyana Merenuk Silver Silk Brocade & Tulle Ballerina Dress available on Etsy.com here. Club Monaco Clarice Skirt available at Shopbop.com here. Reddoll Designs by Tatyana Merenuk Incredible Silk Organza Coco Cocktail Dress available on Etsy.com here.

TOP TO BOTTOM: Wink Camille Skirt available at Shobop.com. River of Romansk Pale Angel Ballerina Dream Dress available on Etsy.com here. Haute Hippie Tulle Ballerina Skirt available at Shobop.com.

Its hard not to want ALL of these, but there’s no way I’d survive 1 minute in any of these outside in Winnipeg today! It felt like a skin-chilling -34 degrees Celsius (-36 F) this morning with the windchill. Can you believe that? That’s just plain crazy cold, but perfect time for me to sit inside & finally get some blogging done! Hope you enjoyed this one!

Cheers,
ash

p.s. Happy New Year! :)

About country girl city world

I'm a small town country girl from rural Manitoba. Recently married and building my nest with my amazing husband in Winnipeg.
This entry was posted in FASHION and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TINY DANCER

  1. Gorgeous post, darling!
    Loving all this tulle!

    xoxox,
    CC

  2. alefashion says:

    Amazing!!! all looks really gorgeous!
    Great post!

    xx Ale

  3. BEE says:

    Ummmm I think I need everything in this post…so stunning.
    xo
    BEE

Leave a Reply

