2010

I can’t believe 2010 is coming to an end already! I’ve put together a brief collection of photos that represent some great memories from what has been the best year of my life :)

Jan & Feb were spent finishing last minute renovations to our first home ‘the Love Nest’ & with a LOT of help from friends & family we were moved in just 2 short weeks before we got married.

On March 4th Jay & I were married on a beautiful sandy beach in Puerto Villarta Mexico, with 42 of our closest family & friends. Nghia Tran a friend of ours was our photographer & took the most incredibly beautiful photos of our engagement & wedding. To view the full post of the photos Nghia took at our wedding please visit his blog.


Photos taken by Nghia Tran

With spring came May & the long weekend. Jay & I were fortunate enough to have a good friend of ours let us stay at his family cabin on a private island in Ontario’s Lake of the Woods. The weekend was spent, hiking the trails, catching some sun with ice cold beverages, fishing & bonfires all night long.


Photos taken by Jason Herlick

July was a super busy month, filled with birthdays, weddings & engagement party’s & I took a work related trip to L.A. I stayed in Laguna beach & Hollywood for 4 days! Unfortunately my camera was on the fritz but I did manage to snap a few picks of myself across the street from my hotel checking out the stars on Hollywood Boulevard & getting a little shopping done before I headed home.

In August I finally got my but in gear & launched this blog!!! I can’t believe it will soon be 6 months since I started. I am predicting some great things to come for CGCW in the future :)

We spent September long weekend the way we always do, with family at Jay’s parents cabin in Lee River. We roasted a huge pig, had bumpy rides on the jet skis, went for lots of canoe adventures, swam in the lake, took naps on the pontoon boat, sat around the bonfire every night & had lots of fireworks that lit up the night sky. Then went home EXHAUSTED.

October is always a busy month full of Halloween parties, socials & costumes to make! This was the second year that I joined my very talented friend Alicia at the Winnipeg Central Canada Comic Con (C4). We dressed up in costumes all weekend & raised money for the Children’s Help Phone at our booth with the guys from Absurd Machine Studios. Alicia’s hard work & countless hours spent creating all of the costumes was well worth it! Together we raised over $600 for the charity. It was an exhausting & fun weekend, & I am looking forward to helping Alicia with next years costumes!

November was really quiet & relaxing. I took my first yoga classes & became hooked! December was incredibly busy & went by WAY TOO fast! I turned 27 & Jay & I celebrated our first Christmas together all in the same week! As busy as it was, Jason made sure we had a tree & I had a great time decorating it. To me opening up a family’s box of Christmas tree decorations is like taking a glimpse at their entire family history. Delicate pieces that have been handed down from generation to generation. Handmade macaroni ornaments from every year of elementary school that no mom could ever throw away. Precious ornaments that celebrate special occasions like baby’s first Christmas, or even more meaningful are the ornaments that represent loved ones that have passed. I wonder what our box of ornaments will look like 5, 10, or 20 years from now.

Well that’s was 2010 in a nutshell. I can’t wait to start 2011, there are so many things to look forward to!

Have a safe & Happy New Years everyone!
Cheers,
ash

About country girl city world

I'm a small town country girl from rural Manitoba. Recently married and building my nest with my amazing husband in Winnipeg.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2010

  1. Antonia says:

    Such a fantastic post! What an amazing year. I still can’t get over your wedding pics…so stunning!! You two look great together!

    x Nia

    http://WWW.LIVEGLAMORDIE.COM

  2. Aw, looks like you had a very fulfilled year!
    Your wedding photos are absolutely gorgeous. The overall scenery, the angle, the dress, and the two of you! It’s adorable.

  3. xs says:

    congrats on the wedding and love nest!

Leave a Reply

