COUNTRY FLARE

Well I’m back, sorry for my lack of posts, I’ve been busy catching up on house chores that have been neglected over the last couple weeks of yard work. But its coming at a great time! When Jay & I took these shots the weather was AMAZING! Now that there’s snow in the forecast it’s nice to think about these last few beautiful weeks.

My favorite 70’s style has made a comeback this fall, the flare jean. Which is why I chose to wear one of my favorite flare jeans for this shoot! Not only is the denim incredibly soft & comfortable, but it’s also one of my favorite colors, olive green! Not to mention the wicked nail head star detail on the back pockets. My Naomi Super Skinny Wide Flare Jeans by dVb, Victoria Beckham Denim are amazing and they looked awesome in all the shots Jay took. There were so many great pics I had a hard time choosing what images to use for my post, so Ive pretty much used all of them :)

There is an old abandoned limestone quarry just down the road from the farm that had a lot of great photo ops. Standing on some broken slabs of concrete was perfect to show off the silhouette of these jeans. A great fitting flare jean can be flattering for a lot of body types. Balancing out a fuller bum or wider hip & when paired with some wicked platforms (like my clogs I bought this summer) they can seriously lengthen your legs, or at least make them appear longer… unfortunately I’ve stopped growing so this is as close to long legs as I’ll get ;) When choosing a flared jean you should make sure it fits snug around the knee & flares out from right below your knee. A flare that starts lower is going to make your legs look un-proportioned, and no one wants that!

You have to be careful when it comes to picking a top to wear with this trend. Wearing anything too bulky or flowy can make you look a little boxy, when you have that much fabric flowing at your feet you can skip the bulk on top. Wearing a top that stops at the waist or tucking it in will accentuate your waist. Avoid any tops or accessories that are overly 70’s cuz you’ll end up looking like your dressed as a hippie for Halloween… BUT that doesn’t mean you can’t have a little fun :) I decided to pair my flares with a simple white top with some cute crochet detail & a beaded feather necklace.

Will you be switching out your super skinnies or baggy boyfriends for a pair of flares & sky high platforms this season? You can defintly look forward to a few more posts to come featuring some more beauties in my flare collection.

WEARING: Naomi Super Skinny Wide Flare Jeans by dVb, white halter crochet top from AE, feather necklace from Urban Behavior, platform clogs from Spring Shoes

Cheers!
ash

About country girl city world

I'm a small town country girl from rural Manitoba. Recently married and building my nest with my amazing husband in Winnipeg.
This entry was posted in FASHION. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to COUNTRY FLARE

  1. Dori says:

    First and last 4 are my fav photos- you rock the poses too:)

  2. Tanis says:

    just beautiful! and the jeans too :)
    ps: nice ass shot!

  3. Second Skin says:

    Whoa! Lady. These knock my freaking boots and socks off! You are a total knockout and your lighting and images are amazing! Didn’t we meet on Chictopia? And post those bum shots! They add drama and are stinking adorable! And your feather necklace is so killer!!! Oh dang.

  4. BEAUTIFUL shots!
    The weather looks lovely, the color of the sky and your pants contrast very nicely.
    I love the fields!

  5. Antonia says:

    Gorgeous shots! Nothing beats the country landscape. I miss that!

  6. chichichic says:

    those jeans are pure perfection!

Leave a Reply

