BIRDS OF A FEATHER

Across a multitude of cultures throughout history, owls have been the source of many myths & legends. Not only has the owl long been considered a symbol of wisdom & helpfulness but was also believed to hold the power of prophecy – even the death of Julius Ceasar was believed to be predicted by an owl. The ancient Greeks believed owls came out at night because they were filled with a magical ‘inner light’ so they could see in the dark. An owl always accompanied Greek armies into battle & it was a sure sign of victory if an owl flew over Greek soldiers before battle. Athene, goddess of wisdom declared the owl one of her favorites.

No matter what the legend or myth there is no denying that owls are a growing trend in accessories – & I WANT SOME! So I headed to my usual stops, Etsy & Shopbop. Here is a collection of my favorite new, vintage & handmade pieces. I hope it inspires you to find your own unique owl accessory.

#1 Vintage Modern Owl Pendant – available at Fresh Fig
#2 Vintage Autumn Owl necklace & Brooch – available at Kiamichi7
#3 (from left to right) Marc Jacobs Party Animal Owl Bag, Fantastical Tale Strass Owl Necklace, Fantastical Tale Wise Owl Ring, Fantastical Tale Strass Owl Studs – all available at Shopbop
#4 Vintage Adjustable Starlight Owl Eyes Ring – available at Kiamichi7
#5 Stainless Owl Ring – available at Strozzistawzeeh
#6 1960’s Vintage Owl Locket – available at Fresh Fig
#7 Gold & Agate Vintage Owl Necklace – available at Fresh Fig
#8 White Owl Necklace – available at Black Blues

If you asked me which of these is my favorite I’d say ALL OF THEM (but if forced to choose it would be number 2 – it has such a killer boho chic vibe to it) – these have new obsession written ALL over them :)

cheers!
ash

About country girl city world

I'm a small town country girl from rural Manitoba. Recently married and building my nest with my amazing husband in Winnipeg.
This entry was posted in ACCESSORIES, FASHION and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BIRDS OF A FEATHER

  1. Funny, I was just thinking about finding owl accessories today but it was a major failed, I got caught up in the nail polish department.
    I love number 1 and 2, the first one seems like the throw on with anything one just to pull the outfit together. The second one has great contrasting colors, looks fuun!

  2. Antonia says:

    I’m a sucker for all animal jewelry, and owls are no exceptions! I love #8!!!

Leave a Reply

